The Great Spark

Actually my entire career has been involving technology. Now looking back as it has involved, my day to day role has changed with it. When I first started, some of my equipment actually used vacuum tubes! And just before I changed jobs that old 1940’s equipment finally was upgrade to digital. In my next role, I was assembling “portable” 20′ and 8′ Satellite dishes in the field for tactical communications. The equipment came in towed vans weighing at least 8,000lbs. And just like before, the new stuff came in small boxes with antennas the size of a large suitcase. My body already paid the price for the heavy stuff. I imagine the next generation of technicians will fare a little bit better when they retire. We also had to pound 9′ copper-clad rods into the ground to ensure safe grounding from electrical surges and direct lightning strikes.

Computers have gotten thinner, lighter and faster. Now my phone accomplishes so many tasks away from my desk. I don’t have to be tied to a physical device hardwired to the network, I can research and answer anyone anywhere…anytime.

While the wear and tear is less, the mental fortitude has gone up to stay on top of the latest thing.

This old dog is getting tired learning new tricks….so in a few years, I will probably enjoy ignorant bliss.

Daily writing prompt
How has technology changed your job?

Leave a comment